MUSIC: Black Merda – The Psych Funk of Black Merda

Black Merda (pronounced “Black Murder”) is an American rock band from Detroit, Michigan, active from the mid 1960s to the early 1970s and reuniting in 2005. They are considered to be the first all black rock band. The core band members are guitarist Anthony Hawkins, bassist VC L. Veasey, and guitarist Charles Hawkins, plus original drummer Tyrone Hite. Hite was a native of Detroit; the Hawkins brothers and Veasey were all born in Mississippi and came of age in Detroit.


01. Black Merda — Cinthy-Ruth 00:00
02. Linnie Walker With Black Merda — People Let Me Know 02:59
03. Soul Agents* — Foxy Lady 6:13
04. VC L. Veasey — Got Me Running 9:48
05. VC L. Veasey — As Sisters And Brothers 12:36
06. VC L. Veasey — We’ve Got The Power 17:16
07. Black Merda — Reality 23:42
08. Linnie Walker With Black Merda — DArn Well 25:42
09. Soul Agents* — Foxy Lady (Instrumental) 28:56
10. VC L. Veasey — Do Nothing Wrong 32:09
11. VC L. Veasey — The Original Man 35:55